My Review of Ghostbusters!

I’ve been down this road before. A year ago Aaron Clarey called for a boycott of Mad Max Fury Road based on the trailers.

Why You Should Not Go See “Mad Max: Feminist Road”

Now, as a guy that works in the industry, I knew better than to judge a movie by the trailer and I decided to see for myself. I waited until AFTER the weekend release for Mad Max Fury Road because I didn’t want to give support to the opening weekend. I ended up getting the flu that very weekend which ironically enough kick started me on the most difficult period of my life. That’s another story though and at the time I had no idea what was coming for me. You can see what I wrote and concluded about those movies in the links below

Why You Should Not Go See “Mad Max: Feminist Road”

https://theredpillnation.wordpress.com/2015/05/12/i-will-probably-go-see-mad-max-fury-road-despite-the-potential-feminist-preaching-in-it/

Mad-Max-Fury-Road-lovely-day-1024x640

There were clearly some people that didn’t agree with me and that’s perfectly OK. The thing was though at the time it was MRA’s that were allegedly calling for this boycott no such boycott was declared. Except by RooshV and The Return of Kings Crowd and anyone that’s bothered to fact check knows that while Return of Kings has views that straddle those of MRA’s it is in fact not an MRA site at all.

Ghostbusters though was another story entirely. Right from the start this movie rolled out a ‘progressive movie’ with an all-female cast, a progressive director (Paul Feig) and the studio and producers Amy Pascale in particular played up about how progressive this movie was going to be. Because there weren’t enough females in Hollywood due to Patriarchy. So right from the start, they demanded that you like this movie just because. Then the trailers came out, Do we even need to review that? Yeah lets just have a look just to remind us of how bad it got

Ghostbusters Trailer

Yeah, you gotta like that dislike to like ratio.

So rather than realizing that HEY maybe we should change our approach. The idiots over the studio decided to double then TRIPLE down and start insulting anyone that panned the trailers. Even going so far as to accuse anyone who didn’t like the movie of being a misogynist! Let’s not even get into the selective censoring that Sony did at their YouTube site to make it appear that way. Naturally, of course, this was caught called, and now Sony had real egg on it’s face.

Then director Paul Feig tried to White Knight people by attempting to guilt them into seeing the movie.

http://www.cinemablend.com/new/Ghostbusters-Critics-Dissed-By-Sony-Head-Epic-Rant-95527.html

That do much better than the studio had done. By the beginning of July, it was clear that Sony had pretty much given up on trying to hype the film

And that was that Ghostbusters was in all likelihood going to tank, and there was nothing they could do about it? It didn’t stop Jezebel from trying to make it look like it would do well.

http://jezebel.com/ghostbusters-earned-3-5-million-on-its-first-night-in-1783748193

But as per usual all you had to do was pull away the top layer and the whole thing began to stink up the joint

Empty Theaters

In the face of this, I was tempted to do what I had done with Mad Max Fury Road and wait out the weekend before seeing it. Personally, I didn’t like being told by a bunch self-righteous Cultural Marxists that I should like or enjoy this movie just because well woman. Ego aside though I just had a feeling that this time UNLIKE Mad Max Fury Road, I couldn’t afford to sit the weekend out. So I told my ego to take a fucking hike declared that I was going and promptly got unfriended by someone. Even though I had a perfectly valid explanation

Unfriended

So on Saturday night I decided that I would take one for the team and head on over to West Edmonton Mall. I marched up the Kiosk pulled out my cards and paid for the 3D experience to boot! Immediately I could tell there was a problem. I had already seen the pic about the empty theaters, but I had no idea it would be this bad. The theater wasn’t even 20% full! I made sure I double checked this with the ticket vendor as I walked in. 41 seats sold in a theater designed for 220. I didn’t bother to scan the audience to see who was there because that sort of thing usually doesn’t matter to me. I settled in, put on my glasses and watched the show.

Now here’s the part where you’re expecting me to tell you how bad the show was right? Well, you’d be wrong on that part! The movie was in fact, decent, by no means was it a classic and I’m sure as hell not seeing it again on the big screen. I would buy it for my own personal DVD collection though at a later date. But don’t read too much into that I also have real classics like “Kung Pow” in my movie collection.

No! The movie was decent I’m not sure if was 3D decent but it had moments and it was even quite funny at times. I thought Kate McKinnon was especially funny, I should point out though that I have a predilection for that kind of character that she was playing in the first place,the other actors were also OK too.

Now though there were also a lot of things I didn’t like. Starting with the way Chris Hemsworth’s character is treated. The gushing by the women when he comes would if the gender roles were reversed had caused some feminists to go into spasmodic fits of offense. In fact as far as I can tell there isn’t a single decent male character in this entire movie. The CGI was also overdone.

As I left I did some quick asking around of other people leaving the theater. They also thought it was alright and a couple people thought it was better than Ghostbusters 2! I’m not sure if I’d agree with that assessment myself but I can say this.

The Studio, Director AND if you want to believe this done by Midnights Edge Producer Amy Pascal and her team are the ones you should hold accountable for this disaster.

Had the stunned idiots at Sony just made this movie and then quietly marketed it as another movie, instead of trying to march this out as an “Oh look how damn progressive we are” movie. And then went so far as to try and shame and force people into liking it. This movie might’ve had a fighting chance to at least break even domestically. As it is though they didn’t do that, instead they did what Feminists and SJW’s have been doing time and again, they doubled down and just kept doubling down. Now though as of the time of this writing the numbers for the weekend will be released in less than 4 hours.

We all know what’s going to happen next. In fact, some people have already tried to do this. They’ll blame those evil nasty patriarchal shitlords for killing the movie. Never mind that this didn’t work or even happen on Mad Max Fury Road. No, they’ll blame anyone other than themselves for their failure. And let’s be blunt here it was THEIR HANDLING of this movie that caused it to tank. You insult your audience that’s exactly what will happen. But here’s the irony of them doing this, though.

They will hand the Greater Men’s Movement it’s single biggest win of the year BY DEFAULT! This coupled with the fact that ICMI 16 in London went off with barely a hitch has in has undone much if not all the damage that the secret feminist offensive did in the early months of 2016. They shot themselves in the foot again and will blame us for it. And you know what? We’ll take it, you’re welcome.

If any of the actors involved in this project ever read this let me say to you. I’m sorry, I know you put some effort into your characters and you did have a decent movie. The progressives killed this movie, not us. Please understand this anger wasn’t directed at you the talent. It was directed at a bunch of people who think that they can force me and other people to like something when we all know that it has to stand on it’s own merits in a free and open marketplace. The people who did this though The Studio, Director and from what I understand Producer Amy Pascal they’re the ones you need to save your anger for.

So thank you again Feminists and Progressives for walking over and handing us the single biggest win of the year. I’m sure you’ll do it again too because idiots like you never listen or learn from what I’ve seen. I mean seriously all we had to do was stand and point and you did all the work for us. Next time just shut the fuck up and make a movie.

Cannot wait to see the numbers Monday morning! (It’s 5:30 am where I am now)

Update:

I just went over and looked at the numbers for Ghostbusters over the weekend. It grossed $46,018,755 over the weekend coming in second behind The Secret Life of Pets.

http://www.the-numbers.com/weekend-box-office-chart

That fact though doesn’t change the fact that the total budget for this movie was $144,000,000 given the large drop off in attendance that usually happens between week 1 and week 2 it’s fairly safe to assume the domestic box office will not save this movie from being a catastrophic loss. The International Market may allow Ghostbusters to come in with a slight loss and it’s always possible that word of mouth may cause one of those rare occasions where the 2nd week is better than the first week. This movie though as decent as it is Ghostbusters doesn’t have the kind of impact that would cause this it’s just not outstanding enough to make that kind of impact.

So Initial feelings were right! We won without really even having to fire a shot, they beat themselves just like they’ve been doing for a few years now.

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “My Review of Ghostbusters!

  1. Meh, not gonna watch that crap. Same for Mad Max Fury Road. No thank you. I don’t even want to pirate those movies. Men need to vote with their wallet or otherwise they’ll just keep ’em coming. Hit ’em where it hurts.

    Like

  2. What people are missing is that it actually isn’t about whether the film is good, which is what even some MRAs are falling back on. It is that this is another in a long line of gender replacement films, the goal of which is to prove a double standard by “correcting” old films that people remember from their childhoods. Here’s the problem. There were actually lots of all female lead films in the 80s, some of which even had revenge against men themes. Witches of Eastwick and 9 to 5 come to mind. Carol Burnett in the 70s had a ton of lets punch men in the face type skits on her show. Nobody seems to complain at all or would complain about a similar film now about four women fighting monsters. That type of thing has been happening for a long time. No one even complains when films have mandatory “battle of the sexes” scenes where the man is supposed to lose. The idea here is that there was something wrong about “Macho Men” having their own hero type film even when women have nothing to do with it, and that feminists need to shit on such films to mark their territory. Not all films were written for a female audience, and why should that be “incorrect”. There where some films that had violence towards women or victimized women, but they almost always portrayed the man or men doing it as despicable people. It was rare, at least in America, for a film to attack women and be like…hahaaa, this is a good thing. You need to know that the destruction of cultural icons is a social engineering technique. Do you really want your film to program you? Why would you watch films at all knowing that they are deliberately doing this?

    Like

    1. Well me personally I work in the film industry. The other part being is that being a film guy and part of the mens movement involves sacrifices and sometimes doing things you don’t want to. For me this meant going to see this very unremarkable movie.

      Like

    1. It would depend on what time they went in. If they went early in the afternoon there’s a very real possibility that the theater would be empty. The 7PM and 9PM shows though wouldn’t be though

      Like

  3. Maybe Ghostbusters would have been more successful if they had some BABES hunting ghosts instead of some angry-looking, butch women that look like they’re about to go clean a New York subway bathroom instead of hunting a ghost.

    Like

Leave a Reply

